Excellence in Mentoring

Each year, the Excellence in Mentoring awards are presented at the National Mentoring Summit to individuals who are positively impacting the lives of youth by supporting the mentoring movement.

We thank the honorees below for their longstanding commitment to our work. To learn more about each honoree, click their respective photoRead more about how mentoring benefits individuals, families and communities.


Excellence in Mentoring Winners

Barbara Gage

Barbara Gage, The Carlson Family Foundation


Julie Magallanes Guevara, Catholic Big Brothers Big Sisters

McGee Jr.

Brandon L. McGee Jr., ASCEND Mentoring


Samuel Powel, Google

Past Excellence in Mentoring Honorees

Curley M. Dossman

Curley M. Dossman, Jr. (2016), 100 Black Men of America


Belkis Christina Plata (2016), Take Stock in Children

Dr. Powell

Dr. Sharon Rose Powell (2016), Center for Supportive Schools

Dave Bing

Dave Bing (2015), BINGO

Charles R. Burke

Charles R. Burke, Jr. (2015), Grable Foundation


Senator Mary L. Landrieu (2015)

Coach Snyder

Coach Bill Snyder (2015), Kansas Mentors

Michael Yanney

Michael B. Yanney (2015), Midlands Mentoring Partnership

Rep. Frank Wolf

Representative Frank Wolf (2014)

Lt. Brad Owen

Lieutenant Governor Brad Owen (2014)

Maura Corrigan

Maura D. Corrigan (2014), Michigan Department of Human Services

The Honorable Charles Schumer and the Honorable Orrin Hatch

The Honorable Charles Schumer and the Honorable Orrin Hatch (2013)


3M (2013)

Peter Koch

Peter Koch (2013), Koch Eye Associates

Dr. Raymund Paredes (2013)