“A Night of Unity” was a celebration of impact, hosted at The Players’ Tribune headquarters in Manhattan’s Canoe Studios on September 20, 2018.

Guests engaged in an evening of networking with high profile individuals from sports, media, and business, participated in fun and unique activations, and heard powerful stories from those whose lives have been changed through mentoring and sport.

Award Recipients

2018 Unity Award Recipient: Ron Shapiro

2018 Bill Russell Mentoring Champion Award Recipients: Omarina Cabrera & Catherine Miller

2018 Inspiring Leaders Award Recipients: PeacePlayers
Middle East

Honorary Co-Chairs

Bill Russell

Most Decorated NBA Champion, MENTOR Co-Founder

Jay Wright

Villanova Men's Basketball Coach

Thanks to Our Sponsors

MENTOR would like to thank all the generous sponsors of A Night of Unity!

Venue Host

Platinum Sponsor

Stephen and Renee Bisciotti Foundation

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

   S. Katzman Produce

The Kriftcher Family

Joe Samberg Family Foundation

Shapiro Advisors LLC


Bronze Sponsors

Omar and Rula Asali Foundation

David and Allison Blitzer

Sean Casey

Cornell Capital LLC

Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

Creative Arts Agency

DICK’S Sporting Goods

The Fontenelli Family

Harris Blitzer Sports & Entertainment and Harris Family Charitable Foundation

Heritage Properties, Inc.

Keith and Lynn Horn

Pete Lyon

The McAllister Family


Brian and Mary Jo Rogers

Rick and Kristin Selvala

Judy and Fred Wilpon Foundation

Friends of Unity

42 Analytics

Jacqueline Alemany

Baltimore Ravens

William Beatson III

The Boisi Family

Jim and Fran Brady


Matthew Feldman

Sean Hudson

Patricia and Mark Joseph, The Shelter Foundation

Pete Lyon

Major League Baseball

Matt Minoff

George Mister, Mark Burton, and Lauren Messina

Michael Nirenberg

Rex and Sherry Rust

Shapiro Sher Guinot & Sandler, P.A

Taconic Capital Advisors

Nicole Washington

Special Thanks